critickillo.blogg.se

Apple macbook pro 2018 for recording music
Apple macbook pro 2018 for recording music









  1. #Apple macbook pro 2018 for recording music upgrade#
  2. #Apple macbook pro 2018 for recording music portable#
  3. #Apple macbook pro 2018 for recording music software#
  4. #Apple macbook pro 2018 for recording music mac#
  5. #Apple macbook pro 2018 for recording music windows#

16GB RAM configurations begin at £1,499 Contact Apple Buy Apple If ever you feel like it’s not enough,you can always return the item.Price From £1,299. I couldn’t find anything refurbished at the moment, but these two models are much more affordable and can certainly handle your needs. Here are the models I recommend from OnBuy (the Amazon of the UK): You can always go with the model you have in mind, but if you want to save some money, I don’t think you’ll need that much power (it never hurts though)!

#Apple macbook pro 2018 for recording music portable#

If you need something portable though, I would consider going for an older refurbished (or brand new) MacBook Pro that used an 8th generation CPU or above.

#Apple macbook pro 2018 for recording music mac#

If you’re looking for something affordable, the Mac Mini I’m talking about is less than half the price of the 2020 MacBook Pro. EastWest’s Composer Cloud (which is probably more demanding than Kontakt), runs very smoothly on my 2018 Mac Mini ( here’s my review) which uses the 8th generation i3-8100. Whether it’s i5, i7 or i9 and whether it’s 1.0 GHz, 2.0 GHz or 3.0 GHz doesn’t have as much of an impact (for music production) as CPU generation. Did you read the section on single-core performance? Basically, the higher the generation, the higher the single-core performance will be. These new MacBook Pros use 10th generation Intel processors (which is overkill). When it comes to CPU, believe me when I say you’ll have absolutely nothing to worry about.

apple macbook pro 2018 for recording music

If you’ll be installing them on this drive, it’ll work out great! CPU isn’t the only important component to consider, storage also plays an important role with these sample libraries. The model you’re talking about also uses a solid-state drive (SSD) which is perfect for your sample libraries (Kontakt and Omnishpere). Let me know if you need anything else!Īs far as RAM is concerned, you’ll have nothing to worry about with 16 GB. Thanks for writing, I hope that answers your question Humphrey. You can always return it if you’re not satisfied! My advice… Purchase one to see if you notice the difference. The increase of performance from my 2018 Mac Mini was like day and night! Logic Pro X projects that include sample libraries, multiple mixing plugins and mastering load within less than a minute (my 2013 iMac took about 5 minutes, no jokes). I produce music professionally and use lots of demanding plugins and other software. To summarize, it really depends on what kind of work you’re doing. If you want to know why single-core performance is extremely important for music production, reread that section, please. I suggest using the benchmark I linked to verify your two MacBooks’ single-core performance compared to the newer ones (I guarantee it’ll be significant). There’s an entire section in this review about that. If you’re not familiar with the advantages, I talk about it in this article about the audio interfaces I use.Īnother important reason for upgrading is the single-core performance. Anything post-2013 uses Thunderbolt 2 which is the minimum requirement. I’m pretty sure the 2012 MacBook uses Thunderbolt 1 which is not compatible with most hardware. To answer your question, it really depends on what you’re doing.įor example, one of the main reasons for upgrading is to have access to the latest Thunderbolt technology. It doesn’t surprise me because I was rocking a 2013 iMac less than a year ago, but I have to admit it was INCREDIBLY slow compared to my new 2018 Mac Mini. I’m glad you’re still able to get work done using Logic Pro X.

apple macbook pro 2018 for recording music

I absolutely agree about the durability, especially for those older models (the new MacBooks aren’t as durable in my opinion). You can even buy a model from a previous year (like 2013) to potentially save hundreds of dollars.Īs it turns out, Apple products were much more durable back in the day (advice from a used computer salesman)! To save some cash, I simply bought mine used/refurbished.

apple macbook pro 2018 for recording music

Upgrading to an Apple computer is one of the smartest moves I made for my music career.

apple macbook pro 2018 for recording music

And this is coming from a man who used to build his own computers. I guarantee you could find a similar laptop at a lower price, but you’d be missing out.

#Apple macbook pro 2018 for recording music upgrade#

And honestly, an upgrade to Logic Pro is much less expensive than any other DAW out there.Ĭonsidering the quality of the hardware/software, you may actually be saving yourself some money down the road. We should simply acknowledge the fact that it will save us the expense of a DAW.

#Apple macbook pro 2018 for recording music software#

I’m not even going to cover all the FREE software Apple includes with its products. You’ll instantly benefit from an enormous library of sounds exclusive to Apple. If you’re just getting started as a music producer, you may be aware that GarageBand is included with every Apple product.

#Apple macbook pro 2018 for recording music windows#

Apple’s future operating systems won’t cost you a dime, unlike Microsoft’s (well, up until Windows 10).











Apple macbook pro 2018 for recording music